commodities from outside Canada and to dispose of goods and commodities that are available for export from Canada. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Supply and Services.

Canadian Consumer Council. The Council was established in 1968 under RSC 1970, c.C-27 to advise the Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs on all facets of consumerism. It meets several times a year, has 19 members representing all segments of the population and all areas of Canada. Although supported financially by the Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, it is independent and reports to Parliament through the Minister.

Canadian Council on Rural Development. Created under the Agricultural and Rural Development Act (RSC 1970, e.A-4), the Canadian Council on Rural Development is a 31-member agency established to advise the Minister of Regional Economic Expansion on rural development policies, and to provide a forum for public information and discussion on rural problems and government programs for rural development. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Regional Economic Expansion.

Canadian Dairy Commission. This Commission, which reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture, was established on December 2, 1966 (RSC 1970, c.C-7) to provide efficient producers of milk and cream with the opportunity of obtaining a fair return for their labour and investment and thus ensure that consumers of dairy products would have a continuous and adequate supply of dairy products of high quality. The Commission consists of three members appointed by the Governor in Council and operates with the advice of a nine-member consultative committee appointed by the Minister.

Canadian Film Development Corporation. This Corporation, established by Act of Parliament in March 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-8), fosters and promotes the development of a feature film industry in Canada through investment in productions, loans to producers, grants to film-makers and film technicians, awards for outstanding accomplishments, and advice and assistance in distribution and administrative matters. It works in co-operation with other federal departments and agencies and with provincial departments and agencies having like interests and finances its operations from a film development advance account in the Consolidated Revenue Fund. The Corporation consists of the Government Film Commissioner and six other members appointed by the Governor in Council for terms of five years. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Canadian Government Specifications Board. Created in 1934 under the authority of the National Research Council Act (RSC 1970, c.N-14) as the Canadian "Government Purchasing Standards Committee", this interdepartmental agency's name was changed in 1948 to the Canadian Government Specifications Board (CGSB).

In 1965, responsibility for the CGSB's operation was transferred by Order in Council to the Department of Defence Production, now part of the Department of Supply and Services. Membership of the Board was then revised to include the Secretary of the Treasury Board, the President of the National Research Council, and the Deputy Ministers of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, National Defence, Public Works, Supply and Services, Transport, and Industry, Trade and Commerce. The Deputy Minister of Supply was designated Chairman of the Board.

The role of the CGSB has expanded to provide standards in support of government programs in procurement, consumer requirements, legislation, technical practices, test procedures and international standardization in more than a hundred fields, many of which are of national interest. It has compiled more than 1,600 standards which are available in both official languages. The technical process of developing and revising standards is performed by some 300 committees and more than 3,000 competent members representing the interests of government, industry, research and testing agencies, and users. The Board works closely with the Standards Council of Canada.

Canadian Grain Commission. The Canada Grain Act (SC 1970-71, c.7) came into force on April 1, 1971, repealing the Canada Grain Act, 1930 (RSC 1952, c.25) and replacing the former Board of Grain Commissioners for Canada. The new Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture, as did the Board, and the responsibilities are unchanged. The Commission provides general supervision over the physical handling of grain in Canada by licensing elevators and elevator operators, by inspecting, grading and weighing grain received at and shipped from terminal elevators, and by other services associated with regulating the grain industry. It manages and operates the six Canadian government elevators in western Canada.

The Commission consists of a chief commissioner and two commissioners. Its objects are, in the interests of grain producers, to establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain, to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets and to regulate grain handling in Canada. It has authority to conduct investigations and hold hearings on matters coming within its purview, and to undertake, sponsor and promote research in relation to grain and grain products.

The Commission is part of the Canada Department of Agriculture, but submits a separate report to the Minister.